Law of Moses

Cities of refuge

The law of Moses specified the death sentence for murder. However, not all killings are murder. All cases of suspected murder needed to be considered by the appointed judges before sentence was carried out. To avoid relatives taking revenge for the death of a family member a place of sanctuary was provided for the one deemed to be the cause of the fatality. These were cities of refuge.

The Sabbath

A selection of verses showing what the Bible tells us about the Sabbath. The Sabbath is the seventh day of the week, equivalent to Saturday in the Western calendar.

Its importance for those under the law of Moses is emphasised because it is the fourth of the Ten Commandments given by God to Israel at Sinai:

Exodus 20 verses 8 - 11

The Passover

The Passover is a ceremony recalling the deliverance of the nation of Israel from Egyptian slavery. It was instituted by God in commandments to Moses. The original Passover was held in Egypt. The details are given in Exodus 12.

The command to keep the Passover was repeated by Moses in Deuteronomy. It was one of the three mandatory feasts that Israel were expected to keep:

Subscribe to Law of Moses